AN OPEN LETTER



Dear World Leaders,

We, the undersigned, urge you to support a global moratorium on the construction of new coal mines and coal mine expansions — a moratorium called for by the President of Kiribati, and Pacific Island nations.

The scientific evidence is clear: to prevent severe and potentially catastrophic damage to human health, economic development and global stability, the world must as soon as possible start using less coal. Consistent with the rapidly shrinking carbon budget, the vast majority of coal reserves are unburnable and must stay in the ground. In short, there is no space for new coal.

Yet while the world negotiates a deal to reduce emissions, countries with large coal reserves are planning large expansions of coal production. These plans, if successful, would lock-in new coal emissions and are incompatible with tackling the threat of climate change.

A moratorium on new coal mines would be an immediate and concrete step towards decarbonizing the world economy. A world that is tackling climate change needs fewer mines, not more.



HIS EXCELLENCY ANOTE TONG President of the Republic of Kiribati

SIGNATORIES -

Dr James E. Hansen

Former Director, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies; Adjunct Professor, Columbia University Earth Institute

Professor Kenneth Arrow

Nobel Prize in Economics 1972; Joan Kenney Professor of Economics and Professor of Operations Research, Emeritus, Stanford University

Professor Peter Doherty AC

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1996; Australian of the Year 1997; Laureate Professor, University of Melbourne

Professor Kristín Vala Ragnarsdóttir

Professor of Sustainability Science, Sæmundur frodi Institute for Sustainable Development, Institute of Earth Sciences, University of Iceland; Fellow, Icelandic Academy of Sciences; Honorary Fellow, Schumacher Institute, Bristol

Professor Paul R. Ehrlich

Bing Professor of Population Studies, President of Center for Conservation Biology, Stanford University; Adjunct Professor, University of Technology, Sydney

Professor Jorgen Randers

Climate strategy, BI Norwegian Business School; co-author The Limits to Growth

Professor Johan Rockström

Water systems and Global Sustainability; Director Stockholm Resilience Centre;

Professor, Environmental Science, Stockholm University **Professor Johan Kuylenstierna**

Director, Stockholm Environment Institute; Adjunct Professor, Stockholm University

Professor Ulf Bjereld

President of Social Democrats for Faith and Solidarity

Dr Jamie Pittock

Associate Professor, Fenner School of Environment and Society. Director of International Programs; Australian National University

Dr Michael Finus

Chair in Environmental Economics, University of Bath; IPCC Lead Author

John Todd PhD

President, John Todd Ecological Design, Inc.

Professor Peter A. Victor PhD

Faculty of Environmental Studies, York University

Professor Tim Kasser PhD

Chair of Psychology, Knox College

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Manfred Max-Neef

Professor of Ecological Economics, Universidad Austral de Chile

Associate Professor Frank Jotzo

Director, Centre for Climate Economics and Policy;

Deputy Director, Crawford School, Australian National University

Kirsty Albion Director, Australian Youth Climate Coalition

Amelia Telford

National Director, Seed Indigenous Youth Climate Network

Dr Wolfgang Sachs

Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, Berlin **Dr David Morawetz**

Economist; Founder and Director, Social Justice Fund

Dr Donna Green Climate Change Research Centre, University of New South Wales

Dr Rosemary Stanton OAM

Public Health Nutritionist **Howard Covington**

Vice chairman, ClientEarth

Professor Jonathan Isham Jr.

Department of Economics, Director of Environmental Studies, Middlebury College; Director, Centre for Social Entrepreneurship

Professor Michael Jacobs

Visiting Professor, Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, London School of Economics and Political Science

Professor Sirkka Heinonen

Finland Futures Research Centre, University of Turku Ian Dunlop

Former Chair, Australian Coal Association; Former executive, Shell **William Becker**

Member of Mikhail Gorbachev's Climate Change Task Force; Executive Director of Presidential Climate Action Project

Professor Hilary Bambrick

Chair of Population Health, Western Sydney University

Professor Hans Joachim Schellnhuber CBE

Founder and Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research, Co-Chair German Advisory Council on Global Change (WGBU)

Dr David Suzuki CC OBC

Scientist, environmentalist and broadcaster; Professor Emeritus, Zoology, University of British Columbia

Mary Evelyn Tucker

Co-founder, Forum on Religion and Ecology, Yale University

Professor Peter Singer AC

Ira W. DeCamp Professor of Bioethics, Princeton University Adam Koniuszewski

Executive Director of Green Cross International

Ben Oquist

Executive Director, The Australia Institute **Dr Richard Denniss**

Chief Economist, The Australia Institute

Professor Claudia Kemfert Energy Economics and Sustainability, Hertie School of Governance:

Head of Department, Energy, Transportation, Environment, German Institute of Economic Research (DIW Berlin)

Professor Rob Moodie AM

Public Health, University of Melbourne

Professor Robert Costanza

Chair in Public Policy, Crawford School, Australian National University

Dr Andrew Glikson

Earth and Paleo-climate Science, Australian National University

Professor Katherine Richardson

Professor, Biological Oceanography, Center for Macroecology, Evolution and Climate, The Danish Natural History Museum; Leader of the Sustainability Science Centre, University of Copenhagen

Professor Rick Cavicchioli

Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, University of New South Wales **Professor Will Steffen**

Adjunct Professor, Australian National University; Councillor, Climate Council; Honorary Professor, Copenhagen University; Visiting Researcher, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Professor John Quiggin

Economics, ARC Federation Fellow, University of Queensland

Professor Lesley Hughes

Distinguished Professor of Biology, Macquarie University; IPCC Lead Author; Councillor, Climate Council

Professor Clive Hamilton

Public Ethics, Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics; Vice-Chancellor's Chair, Charles Sturt University

Emeritus Professor Mark L Wahlqvist AO

Medicine, Monash University; Former Head of Medicine at Prince Henry's Hospital **Emeritus Professor Bruce Armstrong**

Public Health, University of Sydney; Chairman, Bureau of Health Information

Professor Colin Butler

Public Health, University of Canberra; co-founder BODHI Australia **Professor Rufus Clarke FRACS FAFPHM**

Public Health, University of Sydney

Dr Peter Macreadie

ARC Fellow, Plant Function Biology and Climate Change, University of Technology, Sydney

Mathis Wackernagel PhD President, Global Footprint Network

Wes Jackson

Co-founder and President, The Land Institute Frances Moore Lappé

Co-founder Small Planet Institute, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Martin Lees Rector Emeritus, UN University for Peace, Costa Rica; former Secretary General, The Club of Rome, Founding member, China Council for International Cooperation

on Environment and Development **Graeme Maxton**

Secretary General, The Club of Rome

Dr Anders Wijkman

Co-President, Club of Rome

> visit **nonewcoalmines.org** to add your support